Founded in 1848 as the Allentown Seminary, Muhlenberg College was reconstituted in 1867 as an institution of higher education whose purpose was to educate young men from the Lutheran community. Prior to 1905, the College and the affiliated Allentown Preparatory School were collocated at historic Trout Hall, at 4th and Walnut Streets. In January 1905, the College took up residence at its current Chew Street location, in four buildings that were to provide the foundation for "A Greater Muhlenberg."
The current campus originated with the purchase of fifty-one acres of farmland, previously belonging to Ephraim Butz, in 1902. Today, it spans eighty-two acres and comprises more than thirty academic, administrative, and residential buildings. Take a tour through the history of the campus and explore the buildings, landmarks, and most importantly, the people who have shaped Muhlenberg College.
This tour begins in the fall of 2018 with fifteen of the oldest buildings on campus. Check back regularly for additional locations, updates images and descriptions, and future tours.
Locations for Tour
Thanks to Melissa Reph '20 for her research assistance.